Lëtzebuerger Konschtpräis: Award Ceremony

Luxembourg Art Week, Conference Area

Minister of Culture Sam Tanson will announce the launch of the Lëtzebuerger Konschtpräis, a new national award for the visual arts.

Endowed with €10,000, this biennial prize aims to distinguish an artist for their life’s work and career as well as their lasting commitment to the artistic scene in Luxembourg. The award is open to artists active in the field of visual arts who are of Luxembourgish nationality or living/working in Luxembourg, and who have strong cultural connections to the country’s art scene.

A jury made up of five widely recognised experts in the field of visual arts was appointed by the Minister of Culture. For the 2022 edition of the prize, the members of the jury are:

  • Jamie Armstrong, art historian, Director of the Lëtzebuerger Konschtarchiv
  • Marie-Claude Beaud, art historian, exhibition curator and director of e.r.
  • Lucien Kayser, art critic and president of AICA (International Association of Art Critics) Luxembourg and of the Section Arts et Lettres of the Institut grand-ducal
  • Paul Reiles, jurist, Director of the National Museum of History and Art (MNHA), former President of the National Cultural Fund
  • Edmond Thill, museum educator, former Head of the Educational Department at the National Museum of

History and Art (MNHA) and Secretary of the Section Arts et Lettres of the Institut grand-ducal The first award ceremony of the Lëtzebuerger Konschtpräis will take place on 11 November 2022 as part of Luxembourg Art Week.

By creating this prize, which responds directly to recommendation no. 21 of the National Arts Development Plan (“Kulturentwécklungsplang 2018–2028”) (“establishing a system of awards highlighting cultural and artistic achievements”), the Ministry of Culture aims to honour the creative achievements of an artist while increasing the visibility and influence of Luxembourg’s visual arts sector as a whole.

Berthe Lutgen
© Photos : Christof Weber