Luxembourg Art Week 2017

Explore

Museums, galleries, concert halls, restaurants, bars, clubs, high-street brands and corner shops: LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK 2017 is teaming up with TRAVELBLOG by Luxair produced by Maison Moderne to bring you the best of the city's cultural and culinary offerings. For a full guide, check out the TRAVELBLOG!

Cape Cod

11, avenue de la Porte-Neuve
L-2227 Luxembourg smets.lu

cape_cod_02_om_1024

This attractive store focuses on high-end brands of shoes and accessories for women: Prada, Jimmy Choo, Manolo Blahnik… and much, much more. This season, it’s sandals for everyone!

Hôtel Le Royal

12, boulevard Royal

L-2449 Luxembourg

lhw.com/hotel

Royal Traditional room

Guests at Luxembourg's Le Royal enjoy the convenience of having everything under one roof, including several restaurants, a boutique and a beauty salon. Service is personalized and attentive, and the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city. The comfortably appointed guest rooms are understated and immaculate, and many have views of the adjacent park. Returning customers will notice that most rooms as well as the Amélys Restaurant and the Piano Bar have recently been refurbished from top to bottom.

Hôtel Simoncini

6, rue de Notre Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

hotelsimoncini.lu

simoncini - copie 4

Competent and attentive staff await guests at Hotel Simoncini, where the emphasis lies on practicality, harmony and well-being. Cultural and tourist destinations abound in the area, and most of Luxembourg's shops are found here. This lends great ease of access and conviviality to the hotel.

Vins Fins

18, rue Münster

L-2160 Luxembourg

terrae.lu

vins fins2

At Vins Fins, François serves vintages produced in organic or biodynamic vineyards, as well as beers and sodas from small-time, non-industrial organic producers. There are also platters of cheese and pork products to be savoured on the premises.

Ënnert de Steiler

2, rue de la Loge

L-1945 Luxembourg

steiler.lu

Steiler2

Housed in a building dating back to the 14th century, this pub has been serving drinks since 1842, making it the oldest pub in Luxembourg. Nowadays, the patrons tend to be young, tattooed rock fans, and DJs man the turntables on two floors. The house serves mainly beers and cocktails.

Zanzen

27-29, rue Notre-Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

zanzen.lu

zanzen07_1024

The minimalist interior is softened by subtle plays of light which cause the atmosphere to change as the day progresses, with the lighting gradually turning softer as the evening progresses. There is a vast choice of wines by the glass and cocktails.

Luxembourg National Museum of History and Art

Marché-aux-Poissons

L-2011 Luxembourg

mnha.lu

MNHA

From prehistory to the Beaux Arts movement of the 20th century, experience the entire history of Luxembourg as you make your way up from the basement to the eaves of this wonderful museum. Do not miss the Roman mosaic known locally as “aux muses”. The new Wiltheim Wing provides an insight into the history of local furniture making and design through the ages.

Lëtzebuerg City Museum

14, rue du Saint-Esprit

L-1475 Luxembourg

citymuseum.lu

CITYMUSEUM boshua 20170705_086

Discover the entire history of Luxembourg City in this spectacular building in which the exhibits start off in the basement, hewed out of the rock, and go on and on as you rise through the bright upper floors. The Museum's collections bear witness to the industrial, handicraft and commercial heritage of the capital. The musuem's panoramic lift is a fascinating example of the successful adaptation of an old building to the expectations of modern-day museum visitors. The glass cage of the lift passes through the entire height of the museum. The cage is a room in itself, with a surface area of 18 sqm, and can hold up to 65 people. Thanks to its transparent walls and reduced pace, the public is able to admire the rock foundations visible on the lower levels and the panoramic view of the Grund district and Rham plateau on the upper levels. The lift travels through more than thousand years of history in a few minutes, showing the urban stratification of the city of Luxembourg throughout the centuries.

Luxembourg House

2, rue de l’Eau

L-1449 Luxembourg

luxembourghouse.lu

luxembourg_house-4_1024

Luxembourg House is a newly opened store which sells all kinds of products made in Luxembourg: wines, delicatessen, pastries, objects, jewellery, accessories, fashion, design and art.

Extrabold

24, avenue de la Liberté

L-1930 Luxembourg

extrabold.eu

Extrabold

This is the place to go for teenagers and those who like to dress like them, selling street wear, sneakers, accessories and books and gadgets too. Extrabold caters to girls and boys alike.

Notaro

149, rue de la Tour Jacob

L-1831 Luxembourg (Clausen)

notaro.lu

notaro_dsc_3595_c_1024

This Italian restaurant specialises in serving dishes from a number of Italian provinces. The mere mention of the chef’s specials is enough to send prospective diners into raptures, and as for the wine list, it is positively amazing, with real treasures to be discovered.

Yamayu Santatsu

26, rue Notre-Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

resto.com/yamayusantatsu

yamayu_001_1024

This is a classic establishment for those looking for top-notch Japanese cuisine. The sushi is of outstanding quality and the ramen and udon are delicious. The master sushi maker works in front of the patrons, who can sit along the counter.

Brasserie Guillaume

12-14, place Guillaume II

L-1648 Luxembourg

brasserieguillaume.lu

brasserie-guillaume2_1024

This is one of the capital’s unmissable addresses because of its central location and appealing offers: a dozen carpaccio recipes, seafood directly from Rungis, meat and fish, etc. This is true brasserie tradition, both the dishes themselves and the atmospheric restaurant where you can eat at any time of the day.

Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA)

1b, rue du Centenaire

L-3475 Dudelange

cna.lu

steichencollections-cna.lu

003

Visitors to the Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) get to experience an exceptional cultural diversity and are spoilt for choice with the centre’s two temporary exhibition spaces, Display01 and the Pomhouse, its two permanent galleries housing the Steichen Collections – The Bitter Years at the Waassertuerm and The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle – and, last but not least, its two cinemas and the centre’s multimedia library, known as the Médiathèque.

The CNA is both an open platform for the general public and a professional institution. It was established in 1989 and placed under the authority of the Ministry of Culture. Its missions are the conservation and enhancement of Luxembourg’s audiovisual heritage and to ensure that all members of the public can access the culture of sound and that of the fixed and moving image, through exhibitions, publications, screenings, conferences and other events aimed at the general public.

Photo ©Romain Girtgen, CNA

Centre Pompidou-Metz

1, parvis des Droits-de-l’Homme

57020 Metz Cedex 1, France

centrepompidou-metz.fr

RH1896-0177 - copie copie

Centre Pompidou-Metz is a public centre for the arts inaugurated in 2010. Focusing on modern and contemporary art, it presents temporary exhibitions as well as live performances, films and conferences. Located in an innovative building designed by Shigeru Ban and Jean de Gastines, Centre Pompidou-Metz organises internationally acclaimed thematic and monographic exhibitions drawing among others on the world-renowned collections of the Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne.

Villa Vauban – Musée d’Art

18, avenue Émile Reuter

L-2420 Luxembourg

villavauban.lu

ViVa C Aschman 2013 - copie

The museum was designed to reflect the specificity of its collection of paintings originally acquired by wealthy private collectors in the 18th and 19th century. Its core structure, an urban villa from 1873, was redeveloped under the supervision of architect Philippe Schmit of the Luxembourg-based office Diane Heirend & Philippe Schmit architectes, whose contemporary extension engages in a stimulating architectural dialogue with the historic building. The Villa Vauban owes its name to a fort of the former Luxembourg fortress built by the fortress architect of Louis XIV, Sébastien Le Prestre Vauban (1633–1707) which served as the foundation of the later residence. Today an impressive part of the fortress wall of the 18th century can be admired in the basement of the museum. The museum complex is located in a park designed by the French architect Édouard André (1840–1911), one of the leading landscape planners of his time. Extensive refurbishment works will recover the park's original design, thus allowing visitors to explore historic works of art in a quiet and relaxing setting in the heart of the city.

Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain

Entrances for visitors :

41, rue Notre-Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

and

7, boulevard F. Roosevelt

L-2450 Luxembourg

casino-luxembourg.lu

Casino Luxembourg Photo Eric Chenal

Ideally located in the heart of the capital, Casino Luxembourg organises since 1996 contemporary art exhibitions with a focus on young or emerging artists. Following recent refurbishment works, the first floor of the building is reserved for temporary exhibitions (monographic and thematic exhibitions), while the ground floor holds a screening room (BlackBox) as well as a specialised library, a dedicated space for educational activities and the café-restaurant ca(fé)sino.

Photo © Eric Chenal

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

3, Park Dräi Eechelen

L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg

mudam.lu

CA_02484 - copie copie

After several years of operating without a dedicated exhibition space, Mudam, Luxembourg’s museum of modern art, moved into a spectacular building designed by the world-renowned architect Ieoh Ming Pei in 2006. The museum’s collection and programme reflect current trends in contemporary art while documenting the emergence of new artistic practices on the national and international level. A place for aesthetic discoveries, reflection and contemplation, Mudam also provides a quiet setting for a coffee break (Mudam Café) and a small museum shop (Mudam Boutique).

Luxembourg Art Week 2018

Explorer

Musées, centres d'art, salles de concerts, restaurants étoilés, bars, clubs, grandes enseignes et petites échoppes: LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK 2017 s'est associée au TRAVELBLOG by Luxair produit par Maison Moderne pour vous guider dans la multitude des offres culturelles et culinaires de la capitale. Pour le programme complet, rendez-vous sur le site du TRAVELBLOG!

Cape Cod

11, avenue de la Porte-Neuve

L-2227 Luxembourg

smets.lu

cape_cod_02_om_1024

Cette jolie boutique fait la part belle aux marques haut de gamme de chaussures et accessoires pour femmes : Prada, Jimmy Choo, Manolo Blahnik… et tout ce qui porte haut les talons de ces dames. En cette saison, c’est sandales pour tout le monde !

Hôtel Le Royal

12, boulevard Royal

L-2449 Luxembourg

lhw.com/hotel

Royal Traditional room

Les clients de l'hôtel Le Royal Luxembourg profitent de nombreuses installations pratiques sous un seul et même toit, avec notamment plusieurs restaurants, une boutique et un salon de beauté. Les services proposés sont hautement personnalisés et l'hôtel bénéficie d'une situation idéale au cœur de la ville. Aménagées pour offrir un confort exemplaire, les chambres sont sobres et impeccables, et nombre d'entre elles donnent sur le parc adjacent. Les habitués noteront par ailleurs que la plupart des chambres, le restaurant Amélys et le Piano Bar viennent d'être entièrement rénovés.

Hôtel Simoncini

6, rue de Notre Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

hotelsimoncini.lu

simoncini - copie 4

Fonctionnalité, convivialité et bien-être sont les maîtres mots qui caractérisent l’hôtel Simoncini où une équipe attentive et compétente se tient à la disposition des visiteurs. Sa position stratégique et la proximité de nombreux sites culturels et touristiques et de la majorité des commerces de la capitale luxembourgeoise lui offrent une grande facilité d’accès et une parfaite convivialité.

Vins Fins

18, rue Münster

L-2160 Luxembourg

terrae.lu

vins fins2

Chez Vins Fins, François propose des crus issus de vignes en biodynamie ou biologiques. Une offre complétée par des bières et des sodas artisanaux, bio et non industriels. Le tout accompagné de charcuteries et fromages à déguster sur place.

Ënnert de Steiler

2, rue de la Loge

L-1945 Luxembourg

steiler.lu

Steiler2

C’est le plus ancien pub de la capitale puisque ce bâtiment du 14e siècle sert à boire depuis 1842. Aujourd’hui, la clientèle est plutôt jeune, rock et tatouée, les DJ se succèdent sur deux étages et bières et cocktails se partagent la carte.

Zanzen

27-29, rue Notre-Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

zanzen.lu

zanzen07_1024

Le décor épuré est modulé par des jeux de lumières qui font varier l’ambiance au fur et à mesure de la journée et de la soirée pour se faire progressivement plus tamisée. Vaste choix de vins au verre et de cocktails.

Musée national d'histoire et d'art Luxembourg

Marché-aux-Poissons

L-2011 Luxembourg

mnha.lu

MNHA

De la préhistoire aux beaux-arts du 20e siècle, c’est toute l’histoire du Luxembourg qui est traversée depuis le sous-sol, jusqu’aux combles. À ne pas manquer: la mosaïque romaine dite « aux muses ». La nouvelle aile Wiltheim permet de découvrir l’histoire du mobilier et du design luxembourgeois.

Lëtzebuerg City Museum

14, rue du Saint-Esprit

L-1475 Luxembourg

citymuseum.lu

CITYMUSEUM boshua 20170705_086

Toute l’histoire de Luxembourg-ville est à découvrir dans cet immeuble spectaculaire qui part de la roche pour monter vers les étages lumineux. Les collections du musée témoignent du patrimoine industriel, artisanal et commercial de la capitale. Avec ses 18 m2, l'ascenseur est une salle en soi, orientée sur les faubourgs, et qui peut accueillir jusqu'à 65 personnes. Grâce aux parois intérieures vitrées et à la vitesse réduite, le visiteur pourra admirer la roche apparente dans les étages enterrés et profiter du panorama du Grund et du plateau du Rham dans les niveaux supérieurs. En prenant l'ascenseur, toute la stratification urbaine de la Ville de Luxembourg s'offre au visiteur, lui faisant traverser mille ans en quelques minutes.

Luxembourg House

2, rue de l’Eau

L-1449 Luxembourg

luxembourghouse.lu

luxembourg_house-4_1024

Un espace nouvellement mis en place pour valoriser les produits luxembourgeois dans tous les domaines : vins, produits de bouche, pâtisseries, objets, bijoux, accessoires, mode, design et art.

Extrabold

24, avenue de la Liberté

L-1930 Luxembourg

extrabold.eu

Extrabold

L’adresse incontournable pour les ados et ceux qui veulent le rester: du streetwear, des sneakers, des accessoires et un rayon de livres et de gadgets. Le tout autant pour les filles que pour les garçons.

Notaro

149, rue de la Tour Jacob

L-1831 Luxembourg (Clausen)

notaro.lu

notaro_dsc_3595_c_1024

C’est une cuisine italienne des régions que l’on sert ici avec générosité. Les suggestions du jour font saliver rien qu’à les énoncer et la carte des vins fait le tour de la botte avec des trésors à découvrir.

Yamayu Santatsu

26, rue Notre-Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

resto.com/yamayusantatsu

yamayu_001_1024

Une adresse historique pour manger japonais. Les sushis sont de première qualité et on se régale de ramen et udon. Le maître sushis travaille sous les yeux des clients qui peuvent ­s’installer le long du comptoir.

Brasserie Guillaume

12-14, place Guillaume II

L-1648 Luxembourg

brasserieguillaume.lu

brasserie-guillaume2_1024

C’est une des adresses incontournables de la capitale grâce à sa situation centrale et à l’efficacité des propositions : une dizaine de recettes de carpaccios, des fruits de mer en direct de Rungis, viandes et poissons… On est dans la vraie tradition de la brasserie, que ce soit dans l’assiette ou dans l’ambiance de la salle, où l’on peut manger à toute heure.

Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA)

1b, rue du Centenaire

L-3475 Dudelange

cna.lu

steichencollections-cna.lu

003

Le Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) propose à ses visiteurs une diversité culturelle exceptionnelle avec ses deux espaces d’exposition temporaires, le Display01 et le Pomhouse, ses deux galeries permanentes pour les Steichen Collections avec The Bitter Years au Waassertuerm et The Family of Man au Château de Clervaux - ses deux salles de cinéma et sa médiathèque.

Plateforme ouverte au grand public et institution professionnelle à la fois, le CNA a été créé en 1989 et placé sous l’autorité du Ministère de la Culture. Il a pour vocation de conserver et valoriser le patrimoine audiovisuel du Luxembourg et de rendre accessible à tous la culture du son, de l’image fixe et de l’image animée à travers des expositions, des publications, des projections, des conférences ou d’autres manifestations qui visent un large public.

Photo ©Romain Girtgen, CNA

Centre Pompidou-Metz

1, parvis des Droits-de-l’Homme

57020 Metz Cedex 1, France

centrepompidou-metz.fr

RH1896-0177 - copie copie

Le Centre Pompidou-Metz est un établissement public de coopération culturelle inauguré en 2010. Centre d’art dédié à l’art moderne et contemporain, il a pour projet culturel la présentation d’expositions temporaires et la programmation de spectacles vivants, de séances de cinéma et de conférences. Installé dans un bâtiment à l’architecture innovante dessiné par Shigeru Ban et Jean de Gastines, le Centre Pompidou-Metz organise des expositions thématiques et monographiques à rayonnement international, qui puisent notamment dans les prestigieuses collections du Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne.

Villa Vauban – Musée d’Art

18, avenue Émile Reuter

L-2420 Luxembourg

villavauban.lu

ViVa C Aschman 2013 - copie

Le musée a été aménagé de manière à refléter le caractère historique de ses collections, un ensemble d'œuvres d'art réunies par des particuliers fortunés aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. La rénovation et l'agrandissement du bâtiment existant, une villa urbaine datant de 1873, ont été confiés au bureau luxembourgeois Diane Heirend & Philippe Schmit architectes. L'extension contemporaine qu'il a conçue noue un dialogue passionnant avec l'architecture historique de la Villa Vauban. La Villa Vauban tient son nom d'un fort de l'ancienne forteresse de Luxembourg construit par Sébastien Le Prestre Vauban (1633–1707), architecte militaire de Louis XIV. Cette fortification a servi de fondation lors de la construction de la villa. Aujourd'hui, une partie de l'impressionnante enveloppe du fort (XVIIIe siècle) peut être admirée dans les sous-sols du musée. Le complexe architectural de la Villa Vauban est situé au milieu d'un parc dessiné par l'architecte français Édouard André (1840–1911), l'un des paysagistes les plus réputés de son temps. Le parc a été réaménagé de manière à ce qu'il retrouve son aspect d'origine. Le site exceptionnel de la Villa Vauban permet ainsi aux visiteurs de découvrir une collection historique dans une atmosphère calme et reposante au cœur de la ville.

Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain

Entrées pour visiteurs :

41, rue Notre-Dame

L-2240 Luxembourg

et

7, boulevard F. Roosevelt

L-2450 Luxembourg

casino-luxembourg.lu

Casino Luxembourg Photo Eric Chenal

Situé au cœur de la ville, le Casino Luxembourg présente depuis 1996 des expositions sur l’art d’aujourd’hui à travers une programmation internationale qui met l’accent sur les jeunes générations d’artistes. Depuis le récent réaménagement des lieux, le premier étage du bâtiment est réservé aux expositions temporaires (expositions monographiques et thématiques), tandis que le rez-de-chaussée abrite la salle de projection BlackBox ainsi qu’une bibliothèque spécialisée, un espace dédié aux activités pédagogiques et le café-restaurant ca(fé)sino.

Photo © Eric Chenal

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

3, Park Dräi Eechelen

L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg

www.mudam.lu

CA_02484 - copie copie

Après une importante phase de préfiguration, le Mudam a investi en 2006 un bâtiment spectaculaire conçu par l’architecte de renommée mondiale Ieoh Ming Pei. La collection et la programmation du musée reflètent les tendances de la création actuelle tout en rendant compte de l’émergence de nouvelles pratiques artistiques à l’échelon national et international. Lieu de découvertes esthétiques, de réflexion et de contemplation, le Mudam est aussi un lieu de convivialité dans un cadre apaisant (Mudam Café) et de coups de cœur (Mudam Boutique).